Florida SR22 Insurance Filings & Quotes
So what exactly is SR-22 Insurance or FR-44 insurance in Florida?
What is the difference between SR22 insurance and FR44 insurance?
Facts about SR22 & FR44 Insurance
Here are some of the most common reasons why an SR22 or FR44 filing is needed in Florida
Will I need to get a Florida SR22 or FR44?
Why is the auto insurance policy I had before my conviction not good enough?
What can happen if I don’t get the required Florida SR22 insurance or FR44 insurance?
I’ve heard the term “non-owner SR22 insurance” before, what does that mean?
How long am I required to keep my Florida SR22 or FR44 insurance?
Will my rates go up because of the Florida SR22?
What if I need to move to another state during my suspension period?
Well an SR-22 or FR-44 insurance form, or Financial Responsibility Form, as it is often times referred to is basically a certificate or form that your insurance provider will issue on your behalf to the Florida DMV showing them that you have taken out the required auto insurance policy with your insurance company.
Now this certificate or form that your insurance provider files with the DMV is a basically a guarantee that your insurance provider is going to inform the Florida DMV if at any time during the required filing period you allow your SR22 coverage to be canceled your insurer will inform the DMV of this cancellation and the DMV will then suspended your license once again.
An SR22 must meet the absolute minimum Florida state auto insurance liability limits, whereas an FR44 must be double the state minimum car insurance requirements.
- You can purchase an SR22 or FR44 insurance policy in Florida whether you own a car or not.
- You can purchase either policy as a liability only policy or as a full coverage policy.
- In most cases the person required to get either an SR22 or FR44 insurance policy in Florida will be required to keep it in force for 3 years.
- You can also get an SR22 or FR44 certificate in Florida for a motorcycle.
- A person has been arrested and convicted for driving under the influence in Florida.
- A person has over 12 points against their driver’s license.
- A person was stopped by an officer and failed to provide proof of insurance upon request from the officer.
- A person caused an accident while they were uninsured.
- Before the state of Florida will issue a person a hardship license an SR22 or FR44 filing will be required.
If your driver’s license was suspended or revoked by the Florida DMV for any reason you will need an SR22 or FR44 filing before your Florida driver’s license will be reinstated, or before you will be issued a restricted license in Florida.
Once your Florida driver’s license has been suspended or revoked you are going to have to have the state required SR22 or FR44 certificate that proves to the state of Florida that you have auto insurance that at least meets the state minimum requirements. Plus most insurance providers don’t even offer SR22 or FR44 insurance filings in Florida.
In the state of Florida failure to carry the required SR22 or FR44 insurance can result in going to prison for 20 years, just kidding that is not true. What really can happen is that your car may get impounded and your tags will be seized for failure to have the required SR22 or FR44 filing. You will have to pay additional fine amounts and your driver’s license will be suspended for a longer period of time forcing you to keep your Florida SR22 or FR44 insurance for a longer period of time. So the lesson to learn here is make sure you keep your policy paid up and enforce.
Just because you don’t actually own a car doesn’t mean that the state of Florida isn’t going to require you to have an SR22 or FR44. Say for instance you are going to be driving a friend’s car during your suspension period, you can’t drive on a suspended license without having SR22 or FR44 insurance in Florida. That is where the “non-owner” insurance comes into play.
It should be noted that this policy will only cover any other vehicle you might get in an accident with up to the limits of the policy. It does not cover your friend’s car that you are driving.
Well you can expect the required SR22 or FR44 insurance filing to last for 3 years in most cases, it could be shorter in your case, but depends on the reason for needing the SR22. If you have to have FR44 insurance in Florida it is most definitely going to be a 3 year term. One thing we need to make you aware of is that if you let your coverage lapse for any reason, the required filing period starts all over again.
Unfortunately, yes your rates are going to go up quite a bit whether you need an SR22 or FR44 in Florida. When you need this type of coverage you have been deemed a “high-risk”, which means higher rates. If you were receiving a premium rate before because of your good driving record you can expect your new “high-risk” rates to be 2-4 times as much per month.
How much more you will pay each month will depend a lot on the reason you need the SR22 or FR44. If you accumulated too many points on your driver’s license your new rate might be 2-1/2 times what you were paying before. If you need an FR44 in Florida because you got a DUI, your rates are likely to be 3 to 4 times what you were paying before.
If you are under an SR22 or FR44 insurance filing requirement in Florida and need to move to another state you are still required to keep your SR22 or FR44 insurance in place to meet Florida requirements. You will of course need to get a new insurance policy with a new SR22 form filing in your new state. Your new insurance provider will need to submit the new SR22 form to the Florida DMV.